• Uncategorized

Intergovernmental Agreement On The Environment Australia

6.3 In the 1970s, the two main cooperative environmental institutions in the Confederation and the federated states were the Australian Environment Council (AEC) and the Nature Conservation Council (CONCOM). The ACS was established in February 1972 to ensure effective consultation and coordination between the Commonwealth and state governments on appropriate environmental issues. However, their role was limited to consultations. In general, it recognized the principle of the state`s legislative competence in environmental matters. At its first meeting, it was agreed that “the vast majority of environmental problems fall within the competence of States and accept the `benefits of decentralization as a means of improving the environment`.

You may also like...